Celiac Tips and Tricks
find gluten free pasta, cereal, bread, waffles, pancakes, and/or cookies at
most health food stores and
some local grocers. Until you get the hang of shopping & eating Wheat & Gluten Free. Here are some easy things
to cook & eat.
Cream of Rice Hot Cereal
Canned Fruit (not in heavy syrup)
Canned Vegetables (not in sauce)
Beef (from the butcher without sauce, or seasonings)
Chicken (from the butcher without sauce, or seasonings)
Fish (from the butcher without sauce, or seasonings)
Fresh Vegetables (raw, roasted, boiled, etc.)
Home made soups (avoid Bullion cubes, and pasta)
Coffee & Tea (avoid flavored types unless you contact manufacturer)
Popcorn ( air popped)
Pudding ( thickened with cornstarch or Kozy Shack has some gluten free puddings)
Juice (All Natural 100% fruit juice.)
* I am starting a Gluten Free Diet how do I get started and what should I expect ?
When starting a gluten free diet, you must determine what foods contain gluten and which don't. This can be difficult, because of current labeling laws. Gluten can be disguised in many way, including names such as modified food starch, spices, natural flavorings, vinegar, and/or malt. You have to call the manufacturer to verify that the product is gluten free. Most manufacturers give this information. Gluten does not come in just pasta, bread, and cereal as one would think; it is found in many dairy products, condiments, lunch meats, juice, and candy just to name a few.
Here are a few places to look for gluten that you might not have thought about.
Products - many low fat varieties of ice cream, sour cream, cottage
and buttermilk contain modified food starch.
Products - Many rice and soy beverage manufacturers use barely enzymes
in the production process of their products. Example: Rice Dream
rice beverages are not gluten free, because they contain barley enzymes.
Products - Cheese products are often coated with flour, if shredded, to
prevent sticking. Cabot's cheese products are gluten free.
- Most cereals on the market contain malt flavorings that are gluten based.
Health Valley and Enviro Kids makes several gluten free varieties that are very good.
Contamination - When buying bulk items such are flours and grains, be
careful. There is usually cross contamination between the bins
from falling products from one bin to the other, and/or by misuse
of the scoops. Also beware when eating in a restaurant when ordering
grilled or fried foods, the grill or the grease/oil can be contaminated
with gluten. Example: many restaurants cook their French Fries in the
same grease as the Onion Rings which are not gluten free. If you have
non-celiacs in the house beware of bread crumbs in the butter, jam,
toaster, and counter. I buy the squeezable mayo, mustard, jelly and keep
my own small tub of butter.
and Condiments - Distilled vinegar is used in many condiments, and it is
derived from wheat. Apple cider, balsamic, white wine,
red wine vinegar are safe alternatives. It is debated that
the gluten from the wheat in the distilled vinegar is removed
during the manufacturing process, but this is not proven.
Soy Sauce often contains wheat in the ingredients, so you
can substitute Tamari (San-J makes a G.F. variety). Also beware
of catsup, mayonnaise, mustard, and salad dressing, because
many contain gluten. Example: Heinz 57 is not gluten free, but
Heinz Ketchup is gluten free, the vinegar is derived from Corn.
Juice - Juice is not always gluten free even if it says natural on the label.
Meat - Make sure you check with the manufactures, many varieties contain
gluten in ingredients such as natural flavorings. This is also true
for pre-seasoned cuts of meat and turkeys purchased from the butcher.
- Be careful of hard sticky candies. Many hard candies are dusted with flour
to prevent sticking and it is not listed on the label.
Lotions, and Toothpaste - Lotions, creams, shampoos, and cosmetics can
affect individuals with Dermatitis Herpetiformis. Ex. Tom's of
Maine's Toothpaste is G.F. Also beware of licking stamps, envelopes,
and gummed labels.
- always check with the manufacturer of any over the counter or
medication. Many do contain gluten. Some Pharmacists will take care of this
while you wait. Stokes Pharmacy can obtain gluten free prescriptions for you
on the internet. Beware of Laxatives, they often contain gluten.
Metamucil is G.F.
and Extracts - sometimes wheat flour is used in spices to prevent clumping.
McCormick spices are gluten free. Extract often have alcohol
that is gluten based, McCormick extracts are gluten free. Beware
when purchasing spice mixes or sauces they can contain gluten.
Ex: some of McCormick's foil wrapped mixes are not gluten free,
such as the gravy, and spaghetti mix. The Taco mix is gluten free.
and/or eating out - Often well-meaning employees will tell you something is
free when it is not. It is not as easy as just looking for wheat, oats,
barely, rye, spelt on a label. Gluten based ingredients are often hidden
under the terms or natural flavorings, spices, modified food starch, etc.
Also some individuals might tell you that Spelt and Kamut are safe for
Celiacs, because of there low gluten content. This is not true; you
should avoid both products. Many stores now carry gluten free items. If
you need any help located someone in your area that carries gluten free
products, please feel free to email me anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org
You can also find great gluten free products online. I would like to
recommend the Gluten Free Mall, who carries a large selection of
The Gluten Free Kitchen© 1996 - 2007
All Information is copyrighted; you must get prior consent before publishing any info found on this site
This site was last updated
09/17/07 02:16 PM
Site Created and Maintained by Lucy Shriver